More About HKUST

News and Events
About the School
Academic Units
Academic Programs
Honors, Awards and Success Stories
News and Events
Contact Us
Useful Links
News and Events
School of Science Teaching and Research Awards 2013
12 December 2013
Dear Colleagues,

It is my great pleasure to announce that the following faculty members are selected as winners of the School of Science Teaching and Research Awards 2013:

School Teaching Award
Prof. Shing-yu Leung
Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics
School Research Award
Prof. Jian-wei Sun
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
Prof. Xu-hui Huang
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry

The School Teaching and Research Awards are given annually to Science faculty members at Assistant/Associate Professor levels for their exceptional achievements in research or teaching. One faculty member will be selected for each award. This year, the School Awards Committee has to select the winners from a total of eight very competitive nominations from Division and Departments. The Committee is much impressed by the outstanding performance of all nominees, and finds it an extremely difficult task to select only one single awardee for each award. Therefore, two equally outstanding young faculty members are recommended as winners for this year’s School Research Award.

Please join me in congratulating the awardees for their excellent achievements! I would also like to express our great appreciation to all candidates for their dedication and impressive performance in teaching and research. My special thanks also go to those faculty members who have actively participated in the nomination process. Their support is no doubt a great encouragement for our young faculty members.

In appreciation of the excellent performance of the awardees, an engraved plaque and a cash award of $12,000 will be presented to them at the coming School Board meeting scheduled for 12 December 2013 (Thursday). I am looking forward to seeing you at the School Board meeting, and let us show our appreciation to the awardees together with a round of applause!

Best regards,
Nancy Ip
Dean of Science

School of Science | Striving to be the LEADING School of Science in Asia l Life Science, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics