More About HKUST

Academic Units
About the School
Academic Units
Division of Life Science
Department of Chemistry
Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics
Department of Ocean Science
Academic Programs
Honors, Awards and Success Stories
News and Events
Contact Us
Useful Links
Academic Units - Department of Ocean Science
Acting Head: Prof. Peiyuan Qian (
The Department of Ocean Science (OCES) was established under the School of Science with effect from 1 February 2018. We aim to lead in understanding ocean science and technology, from foundation knowledge to applications in marine conservation, global climate change, management of marine resources, socio-economy, and sustainable development. We play a significant role in ocean science research and education at local, regional and international levels. Our faculty is also committed to excellence in both research and education, and our academic programs are extensive and growing.
At a Glance (as of Feb 2018)
Number of Faculty Members: 7
Number of Undergraduate Students: 110
Number of Research Postgraduate Students: 28
Number of Taught Postgraduate Students: 36
Academic Programs
  BSc in Environmental Science
BSc in Ocean Science and Technology (To be launched in 2019/20)
  MSc in Environmental Health and Safety
MPhil/PhD in Marine Environmental Science
SZU-HKUST Joint PhD Program in Marine Environmental Science
Research Interests
1 Marine Ecology
2 Oceanography
3 Ocean Technology
Department of Ocean Science

School of Science | Striving to be the LEADING School of Science in Asia l Life Science, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics