More About HKUST

Academic Units
About the School
Academic Units
Division of Life Science
Department of Chemistry
Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics
Department of Ocean Science
Academic Programs
Honors, Awards and Success Stories
News and Events
Contact Us
Useful Links
Academic Units - Department of Physics
Head: Prof. Penger Tong (
The mission of the Physics Department is captured by the triangle of teaching, research, and innovation. Physics is the science that deals at the most fundamental level with matter and energy, their interactions, and their transformation. It presents major challenges to the human mind and provides the foundation for engineering and other sciences. By pursuing research at the frontier of knowledge and innovation at the cutting edge of technology, it is the ultimate purpose of the physics faculty to preserve and nurture a sense of wonder about the natural world, and to impart it to the students as a driving motivation for learning.
At a Glance (as of Feb 2017)
Number of Faculty Members: 31
Number of Undergraduate Students: 197
Number of Postgraduate Students: 111
Academic Programs
Undergraduate (4-year program):
  BSc in Physics
  MPhil / PhD in Physics
MPhil / PhD in Nano Science and Technology
Research Interests
1 Nano-science and Advanced Materials
2 Meta/photonic/phononic Materials and Physics
3 Nonlinear and Quantum Optics
4 Soft Condensed Matter Physics
5 Condensed Matter Theory and Statistical Mechanics
6 Particle Theory and Cosmology
Department of Physics

School of Science | Striving to be the LEADING School of Science in Asia l Life Science, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics