More About HKUST

About the School
Academic Units
Academic Programs
Research Strengths
Recent Scientific Breakthrough and Discoveries
Interdisciplinary Collaboration
Research Units
Honors, Awards and Success Stories
News and Events
Contact Us
Useful Links
Research - Research Units
The world-class research conducted in the School is supported by the work of our research units. Well-equipped with the latest technologies, these  units enable our faculty to stay at the forefront of their fields. Key research units in the School include:
State Key Laboratory:
State Key Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience
  Director: Prof. Nancy Ip (Life Science)
Biotechnology Research Institute
  Director: Prof. Yung Hou Wong (Life Science)
Associate Director: Prof. Zhenguo Wu (Life Science)
William Mong Institute of Nano Science and Technology
  Director: Prof. Ho Bun Chan (Physics)
Center for Cancer Research
  Director: Prof. Randy Y.C. Poon (Life Science)
Associate Director: Prof. Chun Liang (Life Science)
Center for Chinese Medicine R&D
  Director: Prof. Karl W.K. Tsim (Life Science)
Associate Director: Prof. Robert K.M. Ko (Life Science)
Center for Fundamental Physics
  Director : Prof. George Smoot (IAS/Physics)
Center for Metamaterials Research
  Director:  Prof. Che Ting Chan (Physics)
Center for Scientific Computation
  Director: Prof Xiao Ping Wang (Mathematics)
Center for Space Science Research
  Director: Prof Kwing Lam Chan (Mathematics)
Associate Director: Prof Kun Xu (Mathematics)
Center for Statistical Science
  Acting Director: Prof. Bing Yi Jing (Mathematics)
Center for Stem Cell Research
  Co-Directors : Prof. Nancy Ip (Life Science) and Prof. Zhenguo Wu (Life Science)
Center of Systems Biology and Human Health
  Director: Prof. Mingjie Zhang (Life Science)
Molecular Neuroscience Center
  Co-Directors: Prof. Nancy Ip (Life Science) and Prof. Yung Hou Wong (Life Science)
SSCI-IAS Super-Resolution Imaging Center
  Director : Prof. Karl Herrup (Life Science)
Biosciences Central Research Facility (BioCRF)
  Director: Prof. Randy Y.C. Poon (Life Science)
Ocean Research Facility (OCRF)
  Director: Prof. Jianping Gan (Ocean Science)
Glassblowing Facility
  Director: Prof. Wa-hung Leung (Chemistry)
Materials Characterization & Preparation Facility (MCPF)
  Director: Prof. Ho Bun Chan (Physics)
Associate Director: Prof. Zhiyong Fan (Electronic & Computer Engineering)
Associate Director: Prof. Henry He Yan (Chemistry)
Sino-German Nano-Analytical Laboratory (SiGNAL)
  Director: Prof. Reinhard Renneberg (Chemistry)
Research Units

School of Science | Striving to be the LEADING School of Science in Asia l Life Science, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics