The world-class research conducted in the School is supported by the work of our research units. Well-equipped with the latest technologies, these units enable our faculty to stay at the forefront of their fields.

State Key Laboratory

 

Led by

Email

State Key Laboratory of Molecular Neuroscience

Prof. Nancy Ip  |  Life Science

Director

boip@ust.hk

 

Prof. Mingjie Zhang  |  Life Science

Associate Director
mzhang@ust.hk

 

Institutes

 

Led by

Email

Biotechnology Research Institute

Prof. Yung Hou Wong  |  Life Science

Director

boyung@ust.hk

 

Prof. Zhenguo Wu | Life Science

Associate Director

bczgwu@ust.hk

William Mong Institute of Nano Science and Technology

Prof. Ho Bun Chan  |  Physics

Director
hochan@ust.hk

HKUST Big Data Institute

Prof. Yang Wang  |  Mathematics

Associate Director
yangwang@ust.hk

HKUST Energy Institute

Prof. Henry Yan  |  Chemistry

Associate Director
hyan@ust.hk

 

Centers

 

Led by

Email

Center for Cancer Research

Prof. Chun Liang  |  Life Science

Director

bccliang@ust.hk

 

Prof. Robert Qi | Life Science

Associate Director

qirz@ust.hk

Center for Chinese Medicine R&D

Prof. Karl Tsim  |  Life Science

Director
botsim@ust.hk
 

Prof. Robert Ko | Life Science

Associate Director

bcrko@ust.hk

Center for Fundamental Physics

Prof. George Smoot  |  Physics

Director
gfsmoot@ust.hk

Center for Metamaterials Research

Prof. Che Ting Chan  |  Physics

Director
phchan@ust.hk
 

Prof. Jensen Li  |  Physics

Associate Director
jensenli@ust.hk
Center for Statistical Science

Prof. Bing Yi Jing  |  Mathematics

Director
majing@ust.hk
Center for Stem Cell Research

Prof. Zhenguo Wu | Life Science

Director
bczgwu@ust.hk
 

Prof. Amy Fu | Life Science

Associate Director
boamy@ust.hk

Center of Systems Biology and Human Health

Prof. Mingjie Zhang  |  Life Science

Director
mzhang@ust.hk

Molecular Neuroscience Center

Prof. Yung Hou Wong  |  Life Science

Director
boyung@ust.hk
 

Prof. Amy Fu | Life Science

Associate Director
boamy@ust.hk

SSCI-IAS Super-Resolution Imaging Center

Prof. Shengwang Du  |  Physics

Associate Director
dusw@ust.hk

Center for Epigenomics Research

Prof. Danny Leung  | Life Science

Director
dcyleung@ust.hk
 

Prof. Angela Wu  | Life Science

Associate Director
angelawu@ust.hk

Center for Quantum Materials

Prof. Ning Wang  |  Physics

Director
phwang@ust.hk
 

Prof. Kam Tuen Law  |  Physics

Associate Director
phlaw@ust.hk

The Big Data for Bio Intelligence Laboratory

Prof. Yang Wang  |  Mathematics

Director
yangwang@ust.hk

Hong Kong Branch of Chinese National Engineering Research Center (CNERC) for Tissue Restoration and Reconstruction

Prof. Benzhong Tang  |  Chemistry

Director
tangbenz@ust.hk

 

Facilities

  Led by Email

Glassblowing Facility

Prof. Wa-hung Leung  |  Chemistry

Director
chleung@ust.hk

Sino-German Nano-Analytical Laboratory (SiGNAL)

To be announced  |  Chemistry

Director
 

 

Central Research Facilities

 

Led by

Email

Biosciences Central Research Facility (BioCRF)

Prof. Ho Yi Mak  |  Life Science

Director

hym@ust.hk

 

Prof. Tom Cheung | Life Science

Associate Director
tcheung@ust.hk

Ocean Research Facility (ORF)

Prof. Jianping Gan  |  Ocean Science

Director
magan@ust.hk

Materials Characterization and Preparation Facility (MCPF)

Prof. Ho Bun Chan  |  Physics

Director
hochan@ust.hk
 

Prof. Henry Yan  |  Chemistry

Associate Director
hyan@ust.hk